Cardboard Cabin

About

From the remote shelter of Cardboard Cabin, warm, danceable folk music can be heard. Intimate moments are interspersed with strong power folk. The repertoire contains self-written songs: classical ball dances, but the group does not shy away from experimentation. A sanctuary for anyone who wants to get away from the bustle of this busy world.

The brothers Jeroen (accordion) and Andreas (saxes) Werbrouck earned their spurs in the folk world as a duo under the name Katla (winner of the 2016 Music Mosaic Podium, Boombal, Gooikoorts, Queimada,…). In September 2019 they started a new story, together with Flor Delombaerde ( Isabelle et les Jean , 't Mouvement ) on double bass and Tim Orroi ( Nitty Gritty , Cirqu'en Flêxe ) on drums. After months of writing music, rehearsing and recording intensively, they are ready to let the world into their cabin.

In 2020, the group saw a lot of performances canceled. But there was also good news! They were selected for the VONK! showcase festival (February), and in the 'Promising band' category of the Flanders Folk Awards 2021.

Listen

Cardboard Cabin

Biographie

De la cabine isolée de Cardboard Cabin, une musique folklorique chaleureuse et dansante peut être entendue. Des moments intimes alternent avec des pièces intenses. Le répertoire contient des chansons auto-écrites: danses de bal classiques, mais les hommes n'ont pas peur de l'expérimentation. Un sanctuaire pour tous ceux qui veulent s'éloigner de l'agitation de ce monde occupé.

Les frères Jeroen (accordéon) et Andreas (saxos) Werbrouck ont gagné leurs éperons dans le monde folk en tant que duo sous le nom de Katla (vainqueur du Podium Music Mosaic 2016, Boombal, Gooikoorts, Queimada,…). En septembre 2019, ils ont commencé une nouvelle groupe, avec Flor Delombaerde ( Isabelle et les Jean , 't Mouvement ) à la contrebasse et Tim Orroi ( Nitty Gritty , Cirqu'en Flêxe ) à la batterie. Après des mois à écrire de la musique, à répéter et à enregistrer de manière intensive, ils sont prêts à laisser le monde entrer dans leur cabine.

En 2020, le groupe a vu de nombreuses performances annulées. Mais il y avait aussi de bonnes nouvelles! Ils ont été sélectionnés pour le VONK! festival (février), et dans la catégorie 'Groupe prometteur' aux Flanders Folk Awards 2021

Ecoutez